I’m Mayor Again! But does anyone care anymore? FourSquare brings back Mayorships in an attempt to keep users

I’m Mayor Again! But does anyone care anymore? FourSquare brings back Mayorships in an attempt to keep users

IMG_1246

I’ve been on Foursquare since it’s debut – I even stuck around when they split themselves into Swarm and a “new” Foursquare app. All that accomplished was forcing me to open different apps to check in and actually find places. But, I stuck around. On an early morning check-in at my gym, I was immediately notified of taking the Mayorship from someone else! You can imagine my excitement. I ran to the net to find out what this all meant. I also was shown a popup calling this mayorship a “new feature” – to whom, I’m not sure.

 IMG_1245

To my disappointment, Foursquare only had the following blurb on their blog:

Claim that crown: Mayorships are back

When we first launched Swarm, you fiercely battled your friends for a chance at a Mayor crown. But it just wasn’t as much fun. That’s why today we’re upping the ante and letting you compete for mayorships against everyone.The rules are simple: you’ll be the Mayor of a place if you’ve checked in more than anyone else in the last 30 days. Only 1 check-in per day counts and ties go to the reigning mayor. We’ve been tallying all of your check-ins from the past month, so go see if you’ve already proven yourself worthy of the Mayor crown at your local spots.

IMG_1247

Still, I pursued the web for more. I found a similar post on Gizmodo, no additional information…or excitement for that matter. The rest of the tech blogs all had the same sentiment – no one cares.

So, I’m still holding out for a revival, and am happy to now have a reason to keep checking in. I’m sure I’ll be mayor of every location in Lansing by August. Any thoughts? Did you let the app go long ago? Or are you still holding out like me?

Leave a Reply

